Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Newbie Questions

foresterdroneforesterdrone Club Members Posts: 16
Hi,

I am quite new to building drones. I hope this questions are not so annoying:

1. I am buying the KK 2.1.5 flight controller. Its input voltage is 4.8-6.0V, but my battery has 7.4V, two cells. Could this harm my flight controller in any way?

2. I understand that it is recommended to use a power distribution board, connecting the 8 positive/negative cables from the ESC's to it. So my question is, do you also connect the battery to the ESC? or would you connect your battery to the flight controller? Because if I connect it to the ESC how would it supply power to the flight controller?

3. Do you recommend using bullet connectors? Which part of the ESC has the female and male bullet connector? Should I only connect the ESC to the motor with bullet connectors or is there anything else that it is recommended to use bullet connectors?

4. I bought a 20amp with a BEC of 3 amps. But the input voltage is 4.8-6.0V of the KK flight controller, will that be a problem?foresterdrone2016-05-22 03:46:25

Comments

• WTWUKWTWUK ✭✭✭ CornwallClub Members Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭
    It ain't a drone! It is a multicopter, UAV or anything BUT A DRONE! Grrrrr!!!

Anyways, to answer you.

1. Your battery will kill the KK faster than you can blink if you connect that battery to it. 6.0V is the ABSOLUTE maximum you can power it with. And your 7.4V 2 cell battery is going to be 8.4V when it is fully charged by the way.

2. Use of a power distribution board is entirely optional - it is one of several ways to wire multirotor power setups.