Trolling Motor

Moonwalker031Moonwalker031 Club Members Posts: 9
I am looking for a Trolling Motor for my boat (20ft) but the ones I found are quite big/heavy/expensive since they use a DC brushed motor.

So I was thinking if it is possible to use a brushless motor to do the same job. The specs of the motor they use is 12V at 50A. My reasoning is that a brushless motor is much smaller and can deliver more power since it has 3 cables.

I have very little experience though on brushless motors so all help is welcome.Moonwalker0312016-04-28 16:47:26

Comments

• SawdustSawdust Club Members Posts: 6,763 ✭✭✭
    "My reasoning is that a brushless motor is much smaller and can deliver more power since it has 3 cables."

3 cables doesn't mean anything as far as how much power can be delivered. 2 thicker cables could easily deliver more than 3 thinner ones. Brushless however are supposed to be more efficient. Buggered if I know how you'd be best setting up how it connects into things though.

That's a pretty big lump of a boat to be trying to push around with an electric trolling motor. You'd need a lot of battery power to keep running that for any length of time. I have an 18 foot half cabin that has a 115hp Mariner for the main motor and I have a 10hp Honda 4 stroke for a backup/trolling motor. For just trolling I think I could manage with a little light 2 hp Mariner I used to have and it would run forever on a cup full of fuel. If it's strictly for trolling lures I'd be looking more at something like it, or maybe slightly bigger unless noise is a big problem.
  • Moonwalker031Moonwalker031 Club Members Posts: 9
    I know that a 2 HP motor could be enough for trolling 2-4knts. That equates to 1.5kW. So would this motor give me same power -

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__48177__Watercooled_Brushless_Inrunner_3660SL_3180kv_EU_Warehouse_.html

• __Evan__Evan Club Members Posts: 1,122