New DIY Quadcopter Help Please

Cleach12kCleach12k Club Members Posts: 3
Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated!

I am new to multirotors and don't want to go through the trial and error process that I usually go through at the expense of my wallet. Trial & error is great for learning, but not on a medical student budget!

I would like a pretty basic quadcopter for line of sight flying, durability, & stability/ease of flying. For my first quadcopter, I'm not wanting the fastest or most maneuverable, etc. Any suggestions or advice or tips will be EXTREMELY appreciated!

So far, I have only purchased a frame: Hobby King FPV250L Long Frame (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=56212)

The following are items I have thought, from my limited knowledge, seem to be a good fit:

-Flight Controller: KK2.1HC

-Motor: LDPOWER M2204-2300kV

-ESC: Afro 12A UltraLite V3 w/SimonK

-Propeller: Carbon Fiber 10x4.7

Question about Transmitter & Receiver:

I have a generic 2.4G transmitter from a Syma X5. Will this work with any of the flight controllers? Is it possible to sync a transmitter to the fight controller without needing to purchase a new transmitter and receiver?

I'm obviously new to this, but I pick things up very quickly so a little advice can take me a long way. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• WTWUKWTWUK CornwallClub Members Posts: 13,608 ✭✭✭
    No. The TX you have will not be of any use for your new copter. A transmitter needs to be 'bound' to a receiver that is specifically matched to the type of RF protocol that transmitter uses.

Even though a lot of transmitters use 2.Ghz frequency, they use different protocols within that frequency, so most are not compatible with other brands, and, as your KK has no receiver in it, it cannot be 'bound' to any transmitter.

• Cleach12kCleach12k Club Members Posts: 3
    Thank you. I kinda figured, but was hoping for a longshot for my budget.