HobbyKing Forums
Forum Home Forum Home > Product Specific > Motors
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: FC28-05 2840kv +Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

FC28-05 2840kv +Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
bobbbp View Drop Down
Platinum  (NL)
USERID: 383786
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14/Dec/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote bobbbp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FC28-05 2840kv +Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC
    Posted: 30/Apr/2010 at 4:58am
hello,

i can't find any speed controller section, so i will post it here..

I have bought the Hobbyking SS Series 25-30A ESC and the CF 28-05 2840kv motor. I've flown my plane a few times without any problem, but today my motor started stuttering and my speed controller became very hot. It only happens when i connect a 3s battery. It works fine with 2s. But i've flown with 3s before. Does this mean something is broke?

ps. sorry for my crappy english..

kind regards, bob
Back to Top
wchiro View Drop Down
Platinum  (US)
USERID: 15996
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
Avatar
HobbyKing Moderator

Joined: 18/Feb/2009
Location: Honolulu Hawaii
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1625
  Quote wchiro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Apr/2010 at 10:38am
Do you mean FC 28-05?  This motor is only rated for 2S lipo.  Some have tried 3S and burnt the motors.  You could try to re solder the 3 connectors on the motor wires and the ESC.  Usually when the motors stutter there is a bad solder (cold solder) joint.  If that does not work your motor might be burnt/shorted.


Edited by wchiro - 30/Apr/2010 at 10:38am
For Better Health Visit My Homepage
Back to Top
Jhon-Jhon View Drop Down
Platinum  (CA)
USERID: 201334
HobbyKing aficionado
HobbyKing aficionado
Avatar

Joined: 18/Apr/2009
Location: Quebec
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 252
  Quote Jhon-Jhon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Apr/2010 at 1:10pm
If you go 3s change your prop, put smaller one, maybe thats what you do?
12 Amp max.

Edited by Jhon-Jhon - 30/Apr/2010 at 1:14pm
Back to Top
bobbbp View Drop Down
Platinum  (NL)
USERID: 383786
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14/Dec/2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
  Quote bobbbp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30/Apr/2010 at 7:02pm
im sorry i forgot to say i use a 5x5 prop. But it has the same stuttering without a prop mounted, so thats not the problem.

I will try to re-solder the wires.

thanks,
bob
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.54
Copyright ©2001-2008 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.